Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Ironmacannie, New Galloway.

I've come down to the Borders to spend some time with my oldest friend, Lorraine, and her family. I got the train to Galashiels where they picked me up in what I can only describe as the oldest, most banged up and falling apart 'car' I've ever seen. It was...an experience... There are holes in the floor and things growing. Seriously, actual plant life! I'm not convinced that it's roadworthy but because it's ancient and Finnish and insured in Finland it doesn't have to meet UK regulations. Or something.. I'm unclear on the details, I was too busy holding on! It took us another two and a half hours of rigorous bumping up and down along the road to reach their cottage deep in the wilds of New Galloway. It really is in the middle of nowhere (there is no escape!) Raine and Uula got the place 2 years ago, they run the Mill as a sustainable self-catering holiday let, live in the cottage next door, which they are gradually renovating, and have 15 acres of land. They have lots of amazing 'green' plans centred around permaculture, self-sustainability and new optimism. No, I've no idea what it all means either, it's basically 'The Good Life' with small children. My friends are hippies. And there's no telly! It's a gorgeous area though, I'm looking forward to having a wee wander and taking some photos.


Steps - 3954

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.