Shropsiren

By shropsiren

What a good looking bird!!

Today our pt instructor was in Nairobi so I led an hours workout first thing. Last week it was just me and my host, word got out and today there were 5 of us partaking in my hour of torture. It was a tough one and we are now all aching terribly.
This morning was spent in the office writing staff biographies for the Restart orphanage website. My host had a meeting at an Owl Sanctuary in Naivasha this afternnon. She invited me along to have a look at the birds whilst she was in her meeting. James my co volunteer came along as well. It was like coming home as I spent six weeks living in Naivasha last year travelling along the Gilgil to Naivasha highway everyday. 
On our arrival we met the founder of the sanctuary and watched two huge cranes go wandering off into her house. We then spent the next ten minutes chasing the said cranes round the house trying to get them out. They are extremely clumsy birds and kept crashing into furniture. We then went out onto the verandah overlooking the lake, where the owl pictured with me lives. He was born in captivity and isn't capable of fending for himself as he has no idea how to hunt. He is a Verreaux's eagle owl, also known as the giant eagle owl as it is the largest type of owl found in Africa.
Whilst Mary went for her meeting, James and I were given an exclusive behind the scenes tour of all the other raptor birds at the sanctuary. Many of the birds ended up here after being injured and rescued, some may never leave as they can no longer hunt due to their injuries. Others that recover are then re taught how to fly and hunt again, before being released back into the wild. 
The santuary currently has 3 Crowned Eagles.  These are considered to be Africa's most powerful eagles when measured in terms of the weight of its prey items.The crowned eagle possesses unusually large talons and strong hindlegs, and may kill by crushing the skull. One of the crowned eagles at the sanctuary was captured in 1984 after it was suspected of killing a 4 year old girl, after a missing childs arms was found in it's nest. 
Another interesting day in Kenya, when I got up this morning I never imagined I would be chasing clumsy cranes around a house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.