Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

In a jam

Two stories today...

The first is of G getting stuck in a traffic jam when coming to pick me up at the end of the day. Something was going on - goodness knows what - more than the Gulf Food Exhibition by the looks of it, but she got caught in a jam that didn't move at all for nearly 15 minutes! She very kindly suggested I find a ride home, but that's not on is it? Me happily home and her stuck in a jam which wasn't moving... so, I walked down to where she said she was, amazingly still there 30 minutes later, and joined her. We were in it for almost two hours in the end... bear in mind, this is literally round the block. We later found out that the Egyptian President was in town and roads had been closed off, but there was no announcement to avoid the area. There you go...

My blip is from when I got into the car at sunset.  There are some pink hues there... The city looked very attractive with the clouds.

My second story is about an SMS which popped onto my phone from Dubai Police, notifying me that I had a fine. Well, not me; the vehicle registration was of Gs car. It took me a while to get the details, but it was a speeding fine on a Saturday morning in the middle of the month. I quickly looked up my blips to see what I was doing, and sure enough, we were in Gs car heading off to fix a DVD player for the pastor. I automatically assumed it was me behind the wheel.

In the 90 minutes that we were slowly trying to get home, I told G about the fine and she was mad at me of course. Then on closer examination, we deduced that I was in the passenger seat navigating and G was driving!!! I have to admit I couldn't contain my happiness (and relief).

And I had an extra early start again at the Dusit and another one tomorrow. *sigh*

My extras show the traffic jam from my office window. You can also see the Dubai Frame now complete and it just needs finishing. The other extra is the Emirates Towers which looked really good at twilight - my favourite time to take pictures.

For BCAM2015:
Would you please click here to help donate free mammograms for those who need it. It's free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.