Visit from a Shag

It was a lovely wet day today - lovely because we so badly needed the rain. It fell gently, so on the way home from town I stopped to see if I could see any of the pukeko chicks. They were there, but the grass is so long, their little heads only popped in and out of view occasionally.

I was out of the car, and standing in the drizzle to see if that gave a better view, when this shag arrived right beside me.  I was dangerously close to his firing line. He looked rather bedraggled in the rain but I guess shags are used to getting wet. There wasn't much point in spreading his wings to dry today.

Many many thanks to all of you who helped me celebrate 500 blips with your stars, hearts and kind words. What a generous community Blip has. I feel humbled that so many of you stopped by,  sending my photo of the estuary to the front of the Popular pages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.