atoll

By atoll

Higgity Haggity Hoggety High

Was feeling a bit clueless on the old Blipping front today.

I was feeling a bit like I imagine that numpty Ashley Young felt stepping up to smack his penalty over the bar after elegant Andrea Pirlo has just scored a goal of exquisite beauty. Please check out this on Youtube even if not interested in football (soccer). It was a single-handed coop-de-grâce of any Euro 2012 ambition England ever had (or have).

Mr John in my eyes stepped up to the same mark today with an equally brilliant bit of Blipperati-Azzurri showmanship on his 100th blip. Check it out here.

So I'd be lying if I had said that the same cheery fatalism of the New Christy Minstrels' Three Wheels on My Wagon came to mind instantly - but it did suddenly pop in my head after I had heard a distinct clip-clopping sound outside my office window and then looked-up to watch some horses pulling two romany wagons (not quite) "go gallopin' by". There was Gary and Christine of my 26th May blip Caravan of Love, returning home to their house in the Potteries after a month up visiting the Appleby Horse Fair. Kind of sweet and reassuring to see them finally wind their way back here.

So I grabbed my iPhone and dashed out, but boy were those horses on a roll. I had to power walk (I need a lie down now) up the A50 to Canutes Place roundabout before I could catch up - whereupon I realised that like the once-in-a century Transit of Venus, I was about to align two of my blips into one: Caravan of Love and MP4/13 McLaren. Just to be sure I have also uploaded them for posterity on my historypin.

What can I say, but......

Three wheels on my wagon
And I'm still rolling along
The Cherokees are chasing me
Arrows fly, right on by
But I'm singing a happy song

I'm singing a higgity, haggity, hoggety, high
Pioneers, they never say die
A mile up the road there's a hidden cave
And we can watch those Cherokees
Go galloping by


"Cumon all you Cherokees, sing along with me"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.