Avenue Road

I spent the morning trying out a new Yottom recipe for Fennel and Red Pepper Bake.  The fennel has a very distinct aniseed taste but when mixed with the other ingredients, herbs and a good dollop of white wine, makes for a very tasty dish, especially with the crumble topping of bread, parmason, cheddar cheese and crushed fennel seeds.  Ann and I,  and even Tom, agreed it was very good and one to cook again.  We had it for tea.

This afternoon we went for a walk in the more leafy part of Stratford, Maidenhead and Avenue Roads.  We were looking for the home of the late Tibor Reich, the famous post-war fabric designer.  Of course we didn't know which house it was, but we had fun trying to work out from the few 1950's houses on Avenue Road, most of the grand residences are Victorian. 

I don't normally take pictures of pigeons but the extra today was a visitor to our garden this morning. I first noticed her/him hobbling around the garden looking very bedraggled.  I'm not sure if she had been attacked or flown into a window.  I was busy cooking and didn't take a lot of notice until after a while I saw her again trying, unsuccessfully, to fly up to the bird feeder.  She continued  walking around the garden, stopping every now and then for a rest.  After a while she came to the stones by the kitchen french doors, that were open, to watch me.  Being the kind hearted soul that I am I retrieved my camera and started taking photos of her until she became bored and wandered off.

I went out into the garden to look for her after our walk this afternoon and she had gone so hopefully she had just been a bit stunned and shaken by her drama and has now flown off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.