Dreams

Rustie - Dreamzz

The 80s in Japan is something of an alluring universe for me. I'm not particularly sure why, but it's perhaps because I used to watch Voltron, Tranzor Z (Mazinger Z), War of the Worlds (Gatchaman) and of course Astro Boy when I was about 6-8 years old. I can't get enough of it, and when I pass by or see a building or space still "stuck" in the 80s, I become nostalgic for a past I never had. It's bloody amazing to pretend you're immersed in that world because it's as if you're in a dream. However, being close to "the source" as it were, it's heaven.

As I became older and a bit more mature, I started watching other anime. Although I'm no anime geek and don't have much of an extensive knowledge of the genre, I enjoy the 80s ones. Fist of the North Star (Hokuto No Ken), Golgo 13 and Buichi Terasawa's Space Adventure Cobra. That is just pure awesomeness, with its overt sexuality and brazen use of high contrast neons. The feeling is just... I dunno, cool.

Space Adventure Cobra - Main Theme

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.