Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

St Cwyfans Church, the Church in the Sea

Please look large on black.

I started my day in Snowdonia by driving down to the Ogwen valley for a sunrise which didn't really happen, so I headed up the path to Cwm Idwal to see Llyn Idwal which is backed by Y Garn, Glyder Fawr and Glyder Fach with Tryfan nearby. It was a wonderful walk, especially as I decided to get a bit higher and followed the path towards the Devils Kitchen, which afforded me a great view back down to Llyn Idwal with Pen yr Ole Wen beyond, and a great autumnal tree perched on a crag in the foreground (see extra).

The weather was a bit grey and overcast so I headed back down for a spot of lunch and a consultation with my map. I could see it was far brighter towards Anglesey, so I set off in that direction and I found myself heading down a very narrow lane towards a beach which had a small chapel on a tiny island which is cut off at high tide just like Lindisfarne. It is the church of St Cwyfans, and it was built in 1254 and had a congregation until the 19th Century. The church is still used for weddings and baptisms.

The main picture shows the church from the causeway and the extra shows the position of the island a bit better with the stunning backdrop of the Snowdonia mountains. I loved the clouds and hints of crepuscular rays in the sky, and I thought it suited a mono treatment.

I would love to visit again when the tide is high to emphasise the island effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.