snailspace

By snailspace

Baking Day

Mr L elected to take Ted to the vet and do the shopping on his own today. This was very brave, given the sea state and his propensity for travel sickness. However, he was of the opinion that it is barking mad to take Nell to town and back just to leave her in the car in the ferry and for most of the time in town - it is no better than leaving her at home while we both go out all day.

Nell and I are cosy at home then, while Mr L has been out and about in the wind and rain and bouncing around on the sea.

The day being grey and grim, I have not ventured out. Instead I tackled some baking. I turned some very dull muesli into some lovely honeyed fruity-nutty flapjacks and then made an Onion Bread cob and a batch of Granary Rolls before fashioning a batch of Muffins, which I cooked straight on the Aga hob (the joy!). Also made today were a litre of yoghurt and a batch of roasted salted mixed nuts - to salvage all the out of code ends of bags that I found in my baking goods this week. 

I ran out of steam before getting around to the baguettes.

Just waiting now to hear that the boss has managed to catch the ferry home and to find out what he is bringing home for my supper. The boat should be departing in a couple of minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.