Mist rising...

I had an early start, to take Pete to the station, and then hunkered down at the computer, glad that I wasn't having to do fieldwork in the almost torrential rain. By lunchtime it was starting to ease up, and by mid-afternoon the sun made an appearance.

Alex had returned home from Prague in the small hours of the morning, having had an excellent time - a beautiful city and lots of fun with friends, old and new. We spent a bit of time catching up and then I decided to fit in a short walk before it was time to go and pick Pete up.

Thorpe Wood was looking suitably autumnal at last, and I found a lovely set of Trooping Funnels Clitocybe geotropa (see extras), as well as some Eyelash fungi and some pure white slime-mould fruiting bodies.

I ended up with about twenty minutes to spare before Pete's train arrived, so nipped down to the Rowing Lake, where I was just in time to catch the mist rising. It always seems so ethereal, and reminded me of a very similar evening nearly three years ago when we took Rosie for her first walk after Gemma had been put to sleep. It's at this time of year that I miss them the most... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.