Variable Forklet-moss

Today Alex, Ben and I should have been going to Cambridge, but I woke up with a slight cold, Alex felt tired after his trip and, after a fine start it rained gently for most of the day. So we abandoned our plans!

A day at home meant that I had time to finish another report (two in a week, possibly a record!), start preparation of pickled onions in balsamic vinegar and do the first stages of a repair on a second-hand leather sofa that we were given, which was perfectly comfortable but had a rip in the leather and some rather worn areas. So far, so good - tomorrow I have to re-stain the repaired area, which involves trying to make a perfect colour match!

As there wasn't much incentive to go out I resorted to photographing one of the bryophyte specimens Pete bought back for me to identify. Variable Forklet-moss is a species of open, moist, base-rich ground and may be the most abundant bryophyte in suitable sites, such as the flat floors of chalk and limestone quarries, where it often fruits freely, as here.

I've also managed to catch up with my blips, which have been lagging lately. I think I've got a bit out of the habit of daily blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.