Funeral Bell

Extraordinarily mild for the end of October, but also unbelievably dull today! I spent much of the day preparing a Powerpoint presentation about the changing flora of Lincolnshire for a talk that I'm giving to a conference next weekend. It came together quite well, and I only have the finishing touches to do tomorrow.

As a break I popped over to Thorpe Wood to see how the fungi were coming along. There were definitely more species than on my last visit, though the low light levels under the still leafy canopy made it really hard to see them. I hadn't felt like lugging my tripod around, so had to resort to using flash, which I don't really like much. This was probably the best image. I think it's a young Funeral Bell Galerina marginata. a very common and very poisonous species, hence the name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.