FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Bond Night

A night at the flicks to see Bond with a fellow aviator friend. We rolled our eyes at the far fetched helicopter stunt scene at the beginning of the film and enjoyed further slightly unbelievable flying action with an Islander just like the one our airfield uses for parachuting.

All the ingredients for a Bond movie were there with a great soundtrack, innuendos, tragic heroines, sharp suits, dirty martinis, car chases, evil villains, corny one-liners from the brilliant Q and of course Aston Martins!

I enjoyed spotting some of the locations in London and along the Thames. Reminded me of the location scouts I hosted when working at Leeds Castle and the technical questions they'd ask.

Funny how I view movies differently now. Part of the magic has gone but I sit intrigued working out how certain scenes were filmed such as which camera angles and lighting was used and what's CGI and what's not. Geek alert!

That said I still love the cinema. Perfect escape from reality. When I arrived home I dug out this copy of Empire magazine from April with an article on the making of the film I have yet to read!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.