This morning I had my Hydrotherapy class.. only one more to go and they have sadly finished. The six months of the class seems to have gone by really fast. After that I did some shopping before coming home. When I got home I couldn't get into the street as they were resealing it. The guy felt sorry for me and let me sneak in but I got stones and tar on my tires. Hopefully they come off when I next drive the car.

This afternoon I took a walk just down the road where I took this shot of the Clematis Montana where it is making such a wonderful display at the moment. After that I spent some time in the garden re-potting a few plants and doing some weeding.



About the Clematis Montana
The Clematis Montana is actually in the same plant family as the humble buttercup (Ranunculacea) however when you take a closer look at the leaves, buds and flowers you are sure to see the similarity. The name Clematis is derived from the Greek word for climber; 'Klema', Montana means 'of mountains' which refers to the mountainous regions of Asia which are the natural home of this Clematis species.

It is possible that even before the use of the word 'Klema-tis' the whole genus was known as atragene, meaning 'firecracker' in Greek. Apparently, when large dry stems of C. vitalba are placed in a fire, the heat causes them to split, making a noise like firecrackers.
For more information on the Clematis Species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.