Red Squirrel

By JJRW

NOT a Pekin Duck ...

... but a peeking swallow chick!

Here's a larger view.

One of the swallow nests in my stable has been in use, and a couple of days ago I noticed the chicks visible over the top of the nest. Today I decided to grab some quick shots of them, and when I climbed my stepladder to get to the right height I noticed that they are now using the narrow ledge above the nest. I zoomed in for some close ups, then noticed this one chick still in the nest. So I moved my stepladder to get shots of it from a different angle, and as I climbed the steps it started peeking at me over the edge.
I am a little mystified why those other chicks have left the nest already - they don't seem quite mature enough yet ....

Here's the same chick with its siblings on the ledge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.