Ghostly Goings-On

In preparation for Halloween I've spent much of today updating my blog with a new children's poem and pictures to go with it. This one illustrates my poem. I used a mix of Photoshop and U-Lead and played with two of my own photographs - one of the moon reflected in the sea, and one of a model ship - to create these supposedly phantom vessels!

By the time I'd finished it was too dark to take any outdoor photos, and I thought you might enjoy my digital faffing! Oh, I might as well add my poem, too:

There are ghostly goings on along the coastline:
see-through ships are sailing on the waves.
The lifeboat's been alerted, but the crew is disconcerted
for fear a phantom sailor misbehaves.

"No-one out there's drowning," says the skipper.
"And we shouldn't cause avoidable commotion."
So each glassy silver boat, still haunts the sea, afloat
in spectral shapes amid the midnight ocean.

© Celia Warren 2015

Thanks for all your kind comments and stars 'n' stuff over the past few days. I am now better, and back eating normally, thank you. And (touchwood) my cold seems not to have developed. Hoorah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.