Mr Benedict

I caught up with Mario and MrsPuff this morning, and Benedict this afternoon. The former were less shy than the latter.

When I last saw Benedict he was happy to be patted and brushed, and he purred a lot. Not today. When he came out of his pen area in the room, he mostly hugged the edges and wary of me. There have been a lot of comings and goings at Cat Help, the little charity who rescued him.

I didn't get to pat him but he did eventually come over to play by Jo and I. He wanted to be near but on his terms. It was an insight into how the trauma he's gone through before being rescued affects him now.

I'm guessing when fireworks go on sale, it will be more trauma for him. I wish politicians of all persuasions had the guts to ban them from domestic use.

It's been a sad day in my wider family today. My sister's father in law died this morning. Gavin was a warm and gracious man, the loveliest of father in laws. He will be greatly missed by all who knew him.

RIP Gavin Glasgow.

And so my generation inches ever closer to being the eldest in our family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.