Breast Cancer Survivor

GadgetKid suggested that, on this last day of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, we might like to blip a breast cancer patient/survivor, so here is my friend Fiona, who has been clear of cancer for more than ten years.

At the time of her illness Fiona and I worked together in Drymen Library, where she was the Saturday assistant, and it is a sign of her mettle and positive attitude that she never missed a day's work throughout her treatment. And  she smiled throughout!

I remember one cringe-worthy moment clearly: the chemo had caused Fi's hair to fall out and she had worn a wig while she was bald, but she ditched the wig (which she hated) as soon as she had a short covering of hair. As one of our regular senior citizens was leaving the library, he said, "I don't think much of the new hairstyle." We were both so flabbergasted by his comment that we said nothing, which I regretted, and afterwards Fiona asked me not to say anything. She realised the man didn't know her circumstances, but it just showed how hurtful a throwaway comment can be.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got a busy night ahead. I've dusted my black pointy hat and polished my broomstick, and Monty is all set to jump on board...   Happy Halloween, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.