... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Port Meadow: Surly Swan

Both peaceful and pugnacious in large.

I went to Port Meadow in the early afternoon with a 'two birds, one stone'-type mission: I'd heard that a brant (/brent) goose had been there yesterday so I wanted to see whether that was still about, AND my supervisor loaned me his new high-speed camera so I thought that I'd give it a go.
He bought the camera (a Sony RX10ii) for its high-speed video capabilities, but I wanted to use its v. fast shutter (up to 1/32,000 second) to try to freeze the ripples that appear in feathers under high strain (visible on Mr's distal-most primary feathers here)... I struggled to get to the camera to perform as hoped (it is much laggier in operation than my Nikon), but that is probably partly just unfamiliarity. I did manage to get some shots showing the effect that I was after (visible herehere, and here: the feathers aren't serrated but waves are running along them!). 

I didn't see the brant goose (boo...), but did see a great crested grebe which was nice. There was also a lot of swan strife: the left-hand swan here was being very aggressive and chasing everyone about (including this poor juvenile)...

I've uploaded some other shots to Flickr (right from here).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.