Le petit déjeuner au Café Rouge, Cheltenham

Yesterday we had a coffee after our tour round the Everyman theatre and on our receipt there was an offer of a two-for-one breakfast deal.  As we both liked being there we decided to return today.  The thick early morning fog was thinnning by the time we got to the top of the Cotswold hills and we had a fabulous drive through the countryside with the colours heightened by the glistening light.

When we arrived at the Café Rouge in Cheltenham the staff member who took our order was a bit grumpy and proceeded to knock over a jug of milk as he was clearing the previous occupants crockery.  Eventually things got better and the food was delicious - a full English for me and the gluten-free vegetarian option for Woodpeckers.  after I had finished i quickly picked up my camera and took a few snaps from my seat as the neighbouring table had just been vacated.  I like the curved window and the scene out onto the chestnut tree on the famed Cheltenham Promenade through the curved windows. I think we must make an effort to do this more often.

We then drove back to Stroud to meet our friend Camilla, as she leaves tomorrow for India, then Thailand and Cambodia for eight weeks.  She and I work closely together on several projects and we shall miss chatting on the phone most days, if not in person.  But we will have lots of tales to tell once we meet again in February.  Woodpeckers and I are off to Sri Lanka before Christmas. Bon voyage, Camilla!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.