pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Long Day

After a very late night spent at a friends in Linton I was up at 7.30 & out without waking anyone. I collected Henry at 8 ( who did need waking - sorry Clark household) and we drove to Melbourn.

There I did a child swap, taking Mollie & leaving Henry with his Nana & Grandad to catch up on his sleep. It was good to know he had enjoyed his time with his old Linton friends and we really appreciate how he is still included.

Mollie & I then headed down the A1(M) to Hatfield for the University of Hertfordshire's open day. We arrived at 9.30 & then registered, gathering a bag and free pens etc & sat down to plan our day. It was a great day. I had visited a couple of years ago with Daniel, but for different subjects. Mollie liked it & found it a beneficial day.

Feeling pretty tired, at 2.20pm we turned for home, via Manda's in Ware to drop off items left behind Friday. A whistle stop visit where she kindly made me a bread roll & made me eat it! Then back up the A10 to collect Henry, stopping briefly - from there across town to Girton to drop off some of Mollie's bits at Karen's & then the long road home.

Mollie took this photo in the wing mirror of the sun setting behind us. To Norwich the road was fine, but tiredness & the dark made the drive draining. I flicked from radio 2 to 4 to stay awake. Both kids were asleep most of the way.

From Norwich we crept the last 20 miles through treacly fog. We got home at 6.40. My head really aches and I'm wondering if I'll be able to stay awake for Downton! :-(

Work tomorrow after my (all too short) week off. Of course I'm looking forward to it - but hoping the fog isn't as bad as predicted.

Now bath....& bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.