Lucky

I always have a pang of guilt when Little Dog just has a quick spin for a walk and we take in most of a beautiful day on our own.  So, today was going to include Little Dog.

This morning's thicker mist made me uncertain of whether I'd emerge out of it today.  And I did have to get a little higher than yesterday before I did.  But when I did... Blimey!  I lost count of the number of brocken spectres I saw.  I can’t remember ever having seen them on consecutive days so I feel extraordinarily lucky. This moment captured a fogbow and a brocken spectre.

My plan was to walk to Ilkley and catch the train back.  But it was summertime up top! So, we walked to Ilkley, dropping into thick fog, found our usual venue for a little snack and a coffee and headed right back up into the sunshine. 

We sat on the rocks near my hut for some time.  Still and silent.

There was barely anyone about and I sat and pondered on how much I like to have time on my own.  That’s lucky too, I think.  There’s some things that are just more special that way.  I’ve stopped worrying about whether I should change and focus more on why I enjoy it this way.  I don’t need to worry about what I’m going to say, what I am saying, nor what I’ve said.  

I just look.  And listen.  And absorb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.