Today's Special

By Connections

Last Day Wrap-Up

Another scorcher, just like most of our days here! We returned to the Poudre River Trail again this morning, but I didn't take any blip-worthy shots. However, on our slow walk back to the Armstrong Hotel, I did spot an image that reminded me of chaiselongue's blips, and another that I thought ceridwen might enjoy.

The biggest event of our last day was a 90-minute tour of New Belgium Brewing, one of the experiences on Phil's "bucket list" and the primary reason for our visit to Fort Collins. We were fortunate to have Lauren, above, as our tour leader -- she provided a wealth of information about the brewery in an interesting, easy-to-understand way for both beer nerds and those with only a passing interest in how beer is made. Phil and I both agreed that we'd never been on such an outstanding tour as this one -- and the generous beer samples were an added benefit.

New Belgium's tours take visitors right into production areas, such as the huge bottling floor, which runs 24/7, staffed by only eight people each shift to monitor the machinery and fix anything that goes wrong. The count of bottles completed today at the point that our tour passed by was 292,483!

After the tour (and a little more beer), we walked back to our hotel in the 99F / 37C weather, a journey of about three-quarters of a mile (1.2 km). Later, we went down to Ace Gillett's Lounge for our farewell dinner, which we enjoyed with a bottle of Italian prosecco.

if it weren't so late -- and Phil wasn't waiting for my laptop -- I'd write more about New Belgium Brewery, owned and operated by its 400 employees, and an outstanding example of what ingenuity and environmental awareness can create. We're heading home tomorrow afternoon, and I'll get back to commenting more regularly once I'm in the cool wet climate that makes it easier for me to think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.