Firecrest!

Even though it's been wet this morning I managed to get down the track in search of a blip. I thought I go for a raindrop shot for Tiny Tuesday but the camera wouldn't focus where I wanted it too!

I'd heard very high pitched calls on the way down the track, but didn't see anything making them. However as I was coming home I saw tiny birds, first amongst the ivy and then on the blackthorn branches. I was convinced they were Goldcrests flitting to and fro, but on seeing on the PC they were Firecrests!! This is the best shot I got, so even though you can't see it's face, you can see the fiery stripe on it's head! I have put some others on Flickr including one amongst the ivy flowers to show how small they really are.

I'm going to tag this for TinyTuesday as they are the smallest bird in the UK, along with the Goldcrest. Thanks to JDO for hosting this month, here are the other entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.