Port Vila - Vanuatu

Port Vila - Vanautu
I could get used to this. Today we arrived Port Vila for a daytime stopover, the last before we cruise back to Brisbane. What a fun place. Clearly a liitle less cosmopolitan than Brisbane but very laid back.
Jo and I got out early on our shore tour which was a sailing trip out on the bay and some snorkeling. The water temperature was beautiful, just right. Around 6 metres deep under the keel of the boat. I spent most of the morning staring at fishes and getting salt water in my sinuses. Jo was happy to sit on the beach. Swimming isn't really her thing. The crew on the boat gave us a couple of bags of bread to feed the fish. I was of course the first in and the first to get to the bread and start feeding. I was a little bit surprised when the fish started biting me. It was a nit unnerving. Like being mobbed by toothless piranahs. Towards the end of the tour I removed the flippers, goggles and snorkel, preferring to relax in the water with a beer.
After our tour we went for a walk around the Port Vila markets, which, it seemed all sold the same things: Grass skirts, coconut bras, hawaiian shirts, etc. Nothing really grabbed us. We also wandered around the local produce market which was interesting to say the least. Jo had been quite keen to try the local cuisine. I wasn't so keen when I saw the food displays. Hmmm, maybe not.
Instead we stopped in at a local bar and had lunch with a beverage. Tusker beer isn't actually all that bad.
I was a little bit sad to board the ship again. Port Vila is a place I would like to come back to. We now face 3 days at sea on our voyage back to Brisbane. The captain informed us that the weather isn't looking too good. Force 5 gales and 3-4 metre seas. Nothing a ship like this can't handle but it might get a bit bumpy I suspect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.