kwchas

By kwchas

Future Flower

I was meeting a friend in Widnes today and beforehand I went for a walk along the Sankey Canal which runs parallel to the River Mersey.

I had been intending to photograph the new Mersey Crossing so I could monitor its progress as another blip project. The weather today was grey and horrible again but the view was enlivened by this sculpture called Future Flower which was erected in 2007.

It is part of the Widnes Waterfront Regeneration Programme where they have been working to transform over 300 acres of former chemical works. Part of the area is now a nature reserve and the sculpture is designed to reflect the transformation of an area of former industrial dereliction.

My extra picture is the plaque next to the sculpture which gives more detail and saves me typing it all out. :)

In the background you can see three tall cranes where the new bridge is being built. At the moment they seem to be constructing the columns for the bridge.

Further in the background, to the right, you can see the current bridge.

I converted it to mono because there was very little colour in the picture anyway and it seems to work well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.