CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Our Judas tree's autumn display

It has been grey all day and as the afternoon progressed the mist began to fall as light rain. I decided to grab my camera, mounted the macro lens and headed towards the amazing colours at the bottom of the garden.

My eye was caught by the medlar tree whose small branches were heavily laden with fruit, but I couldn't get a good angle and as the ground was so wet I decided not to kneel down.  I must gather all the fruit before the deer come (or maybe it was badgers) and snaffle them up like last year.  

I planted the Judas tree fairly close to the medlar a few years ago and after a couple of rocky years it has become a delightful small tree in the garden.  The leaves begin the year in a light green colour before turning a deep mauve.  When Autumn comes the colours recede back into the trunk and you can see the effect as the leaves become lighter and yellower.

I think the forecast imminent rain and windy weather may well strip the leaves off the tree completely, so I decided to blip the Judas leaves today.  Otherwise it might have been the medlar, or even Bomble sitting on the fence after following me around the garden.  Both pictures are in the 'Extra photos' folder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.