RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

A Day Late

The big Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) party was last night downtown, though I imagine there were plenty of people at the local cemeteries as well. We could hear the music in our apartment well into the wee hours. Today the plaza was full of alters in various states, some complete, others missing items, still others just a shell. I took photos regardless, though I'm sure they would have been better had I left our apartment last night. I'm not certain whether this is a Day of the Dead display or something more in line with Halloween, but I really liked the skeleton, palm tree and sky combination. I suspected I would be shooting alters when I left the apartment this morning, so I purposely took my flash to provide some fill light in the expected harsh conditions. That allowed me to keep detail in the sky while also exposing for the area in shadow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.