The Way I See Things

By JDO

Stargazer

I've surprised myself by choosing this photo to post today: I've been rather smugly congratulating myself on creating two focus-stacked images of the same lily in Photoshop (the first time I've ever done focus stacking), and I assumed that one of those would be the blip. But when it came down to it I realised that despite the very shallow dof I actually prefer this single image, which just needed a little contrast and a very slight crop in Lightroom.

If you're interested, I've put the two focus stacks on Flickr: this one was a four-image stack, and (getting cocky by this stage) this one was a ten-image stack. The second one acquired some rather odd artefacts towards the outer edges, which apparently I should have removed with masking - but that's so far beyond my competence that I simply cropped them out. I like them both, and I'm very pleased to have learned to do this (though if you promise not to tell anyone I'll let you in on a secret: the hardest part of the whole thing is getting a set of images that properly cover all the points you're trying to get in focus - after getting them into PS all you have to do is tell it to blend them and go off for a cup of tea while it does all the hard work for you), but I just find this shot more interesting. I hope you agree!

A reminder before I disappear off to watch River  that there's still time to post your macro and close-up shots for this week's Tiny Tuesday. I will take a look at all the submissions tomorrow, but probably won't get round to making my choices till Thursday. The tags are tinytuesday, tinytuesday23 and tt23.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.