Mistfall

Although I really love taking photos, I don't remember ever jumping up and down on the spot with the excitement of what I was seeing!

We set off quite late thinking it was a dull morning and there was no point bothering to go to Haweswater before our shopping trip to Kirkby Stephen.. Just after we set off the sun came out and we decided to go and look at the lake.

Someone else had parked in the spot I always use in the Haweswater Valley, "Never mind", I told the man, "just back in behind him!" I got out of the car and saw an amazing sight. A film of cloud began to spill over the highest ridge. I took some shots from the road then hurried to clamber up the rocky outcrop I often shoot from.

OH! WOW! It doesn't show very well on this blip but the ridges on the right and left have a stream of mist flowing over them. It was as if a giant reservoir was overflowing into the one below. Just ever so smoothly it went on for about half an hour. I had never seen it happen before, it was a thrilling sight.

Please have a look at the extra, taken at 150 mm. A cascade of air, a waterfall of cloud, a mistfall.

It was nice that yesterday's shot got into Popular, I was looking for something else when I saw it. You know, I really don't mind when followers give me ideas about improvements I could make, that's what we used to do in the old days here. We weren't shy about helping each other improve.

So the letterbox version of yesterday's got put onto a Facebook site for the Lake District and soon got 50 likes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.