Autumn In Hexham

I shouldn't have been here. I thought I should, but I shouldn't!

Six months ago my optician asked me to book a hospital appointment for an eye test. There were no appointments being offered in Cumbria, the only one was in Hexham 50 miles away. I booked it.

The confirmation arrived in the post, I checked the date and the time.
They postponed it and I declined the new appointment as I couldn't get to it.

I chose another date. They sent a confirmation. I checked the date and time.

So, today I had an enjoyable morning and lunch in Hexham and ordered coffee for The Man and I in a cafe to use up some of the last 45 minutes until my appointment. I reached in my bag to check which part of Hexham General I would need to be in. The Claremont Wing of the RVI, Newcastle! Aaargh!


We dashed out of the cafe and into the car to drive another 20 miles! I got there just in time and 2 hours 15 mins later I was relieved to find there was nothing wrong with my eyes, just my ability to read things carefully! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.