Working Lunch

Busy day today, slaving over a hot keyboard with three simultaneous projects under way.
That’s why I found myself resorting to a working lunch of the type which was par for course many years ago. But not anticipated when you are supposed to have time on your hands in retirement.
Fine. Except that I have not noticed that much spare time on my hands in latter years. Many days appear to have just as many calls on my time as they did in full time working.
But then, I guess it is my own choice. My conscious  decision to keep myself busy and active, in a bid to avoid vegetating in my own shell.  Some of my friends have told me that they have found retirement boring. For me, the old saying of not knowing how I can possibly fit everything into a single day, every day, rings true.
But, seriously, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  The only difference is that these days I can choose what I do and for the most part just when I do it. Oh yes, and for the joy of doing it voluntarily, rather than for monetary reward as once was an essential factor of working life.
Nevertheless  that’s why today, I found myself fixing a quick plate of tomato and chick pea salad with ham sliced from the left-overs Sunday’s gammon joint, and simply pushing the iPad to the back of the table. But leaving the keyboard within reach.

But then, technology has changed quickly in a few years, making many things feasible which might have taken an age just a few years ago. In terms of communication which wouldn’t have been dreamed of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.