Back to Work

I'd been off so long that it felt like I might soon be staring down the barrel of a gun if I did not go back.  

After 7 months off I returned to work today, back in the office that was my base for twenty years until promotion three years ago.  I was a little apprehensive returning after such a long absence, especially as when I last worked I was the boss but stepping down means that I am now a small contract member of the team, on equal grade to the folk I used to manage.  All was relaxed and friendly - perhaps I will reap a dividend for the way I managed before.  

It was time to go back.  The family will enjoy their girls alone time and I get to see a few old and friendly faces.  The customers seemed pleased to have me back and while curious about where I had been, no-one has yet said "I thought you were dead!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.