If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Male Blackbird

We are going away for a few days starting on Friday morning.  This meant I had a busy day as all the laundry from the Lodge needed ironed before Clickychick takes them to our cleaner tomorrow.  I do the ironing using the press in the spare bedroom.  I hadn't realised until recently just how good a view point this is for the garden birds.

I mentioned recently a rare visit by a Treecreeper, well it came again.  That and the appearance of Long Tailed Tits prompted me to take the camera up with me.  A False start (I must remember when I put the battery on charge) meant all the exciting things had gone by the time I was ready.

So this male Blackbird will have to do.  I have never seen the dark beaked migrants which were mentioned on Autumnwatch tonight, but I am fairly sure this is a this years youngster moulted into adult plumage and not yet reached full maturity and a yellow beak.  I think this as I have seen ones like this much earlier in the year than any migrants would be around.

If anyone knows better please correct me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.