Northaw Great Wood

I woke up quite late this morning to find  heavy mist outside.  It was too good an opportunity to miss, so I headed out with the camera to see what I could capture.  I came back with several reasonably pleasing shots, but after breakfast headed out again.  By this time the mist was much less intense and the sun was breaking through, revealing a gorgeous blue sky.  I loved the backlit trees in this part of the wood.

Inevitably the dynamic range from the brightest part of the sky to the darkest shadow under the trees was too much to capture in a single shot, so this is a multiple shot HDR concoction. Constructed using Photomatix Essentials (I'm too mean to pay for the full software).  I'm reasonably happy with the result.

Best viewed large on a black background (click on the double expansion arrow below the image - may not be available on mobile platforms).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.