Toots in Solitude

By Toots

Goings-ons

It's not often I venture from the quiet and scenic lands of East Lothian and head over to the metropolis that is Edinburgh. It's a Gillian Galbraith to Ian Rankin journey.
As I fought my way along North Bridge, through thickets of people, my eyes chanced upon some sort of drama, played out in silhouette on a distant grey skyline rooftop. It all looked highly suspicious.
My hand went automatically to my holster camera and I took aim and fired a few shots.
I couldn't make out clearly the exact affair as my ageing eyesight often is a deceiver, I have only snapshot images in my garbled mind.
There was a figure standing in profile almost as if on an altar while a huddle of clickers bowed in front of him waving threatening cameras . He appeared to be holding a book (obviously not a Blank book, that would be silly) but so far he had shown no signs of using this as a shield of protection for his face.
A further figure appeared in view (someone greatly resembling 'G') and joined this Bliparazzi mob. He also appeared to be wielding a gun camera.
I took in my surroundings: no-one else in the rainy street seemed in any way aware of the scene unfolding high above them on the rooftop.
I glanced back: things had changed. The figure still stood stolidly at the altar but he was now being man-handled by someone (for description sake, readers, lets say a photographer from the Scotsman). This Scotsman seemed to be re-positioning the altar mans hands and arms, perhaps he thought that this man didn't know how to hold a book.
I looked away and to the hotel clock. It was past 11am and I recalled I had a meeting to attend, so, with one final glance to the rooftop I hurried to meet the folk from BlipLand and the promise Blipcentral had given that there would be an Ian Rankin photo-shoot.

HERE are a few more of my Ian Rankin shots.

He genuinely seems a really decent sort of person and he must have a great deal of patience. Thanks Blipcentral for putting this in place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.