FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Soggy & Stranded

"Running downhill in the rain wearing a dress and boots with slippery leaves underfoot is probably not a good idea!" I thought as I made a mad dash to the train station after working late.

Somehow I managed to make it to the platform two minutes before my train was due to arrive. By now I'm looking rather bedraggled with soaking wet hair and eyeliner running down my face. My skirt is stuck to my legs and my umbrella is broken.

I'm more annoyed about my broken umbrella than getting wet. I call it my 'Mary Poppins' brolly'. It's navy blue with red fabric piping around the circumference with a red leather handle. It's a mock-vintage 50s style accessory. One of the metal hinges has broken. A little job for dad I think!

To make my mad dash even more frustrating the train proceeded to be seven minutes late due to 'slipping / time of year' whatever that means. Leaves on the line maybe?

Dragging me out of my huff was this colourful art on the platform across from me. I've been travelling to Tunbridge Wells' Station for over four months and I've never paid any attention to it before. I guess sometimes we need to look around us to see the colour in life, despite the rain!

Due to the late train I missed my connection and waited a further 25 minutes for another delayed service at the next station.

To pass the time I drank a coffee, which I'll probably regret later, then I updated my Runkeeper logging a couple of recent walks and noticed I've already walked 10.5 miles this month! Then I wrote this Blip. So not a completely wasted delay after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.