FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Rediscovering Roald Dahl

A major advantage of commuting to work by train is the time I've discovered to read. Escaping into a different world, travelling to a time in the past to places I've never been with people I've never met.

My escapism into books continues at bedtime when I turn the pages of a gripping story urging my eyes to stay open to finish just one more chapter.

My latest book is Roald Dahl's Tales of Childhood. He was one of my favourite authors as a child and very much part of my growing up AND a big influence on my decision to write stories and find a career where I could write. I'd forgotten how magical, addictive, funny, grotesque Roald's writing can be and I'm enjoying every page.

Next book will be Going Solo, Roald's tales of being a Spitfire pilot in WWII. After that perhaps I'll start rereading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory for pure escapism!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.