TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Happy National Donut Day!

It's National Donut Day...again. Yes, the first Friday in June AND November 5th are both National Donut Day. There are a few theories about how that happened but nobody seems to actually know why and really...who cares? There are two national holidays that celebrate the awesomeness that is the donut. Yay!
So, to celebrate this National Donut Day, I am featuring a photo I took of the most delicious donuts on the planet (and possibly the entire galaxy). These donuts can only be found at a small, family owned donut shop located on Hwy 27 in Minneola, Florida called Donut King.
I was introduced to these melt-in-your-mouth little bites of heaven in 2013, while living in Kissimmee, Florida. They are handmade fresh every day at the shop...32 varieties by my last count, each one more delectable than the last. 
Suffice it to say that these donuts are my kryptonite and I think I can safely affirm that my body AND my blue jeans are thankful that I now live more than 1,000 miles away from the sleepy small town of Minneola and the best little donut shop known to man.

Doughnuts! Oh, doughnuts! Fried circles of yum.
You food that I simply adore.
You’re sure not nutritious, but you’re so delicious
I’m always left wishing for more.

I love you with frosting or covered in sprinkles.
I swoon for you, sweet, sugar raised!
When you’re filled with jelly, you warm up my belly...
While still leaving room for a glazed.

I’ll dip you in coffee or dunk you in milk.
I’ll eat you for breakfast or brunch.
I get so impassioned for simple old-fashioned
That sometimes I make them my lunch.

Doughnuts! Oh, doughnuts! Definers of yum.
You perfect fried circles of dough.
Although you’re caloric, you leave me euphoric...
So give me a dozen to go!



~ Greg Pincus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.