LadyYakAlot

By LadyYakAlot

Norman Tower at Night

I had my hair cut after work this evening and now the clocks have changed it was dark going back to my car so I got this rather dramatic shot of the Norman Tower (Gate) at Bury Cathedral. Mind you I did have to wait a while for all the passing cars to disappear! The Norman Tower, also known as "the great gate of the church of St Edmund", was built by Abbot Anselm between 1120 and 1148 and it was the principle gateway into the abbey precinct.  It has historically served as the bell tower to the Cathedral and is still in use today.

I love the historic town of Bury with the quaint old little streets, buildings and shops. At night time when it is quiet you can imagine yourself back in time and taking part in some of the historic events of the town. However tonight was Guy Fawkes but with the rain there were very little fireworks on show … and the mildness of the evening do nothing to evoke the 5th Novembers in my past, when as a girl I remember wrapping up against the cold and walking home through streets that smelt of fireworks and bonfires … lovely!

Back to the future, and the rain and the drive home … to a house smelling of Yankee Candles and soaps to follow dinner … perfick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.