Growing on gorse

I've been back on a fungi hunt this morning.  These were growing on gorse bushes, I presume where the wood had already died.  I also spotted a different fungi growing on a dead gorse branch but my photo is not too sharpe (it was blowing a gale up on the top of Danby Rigg!)  I set out to photograph the wax caps that are growing in the field next to the cottage and I think I was reasonable successful, though many of these are getting older and broken now (there are sheep in the field).  I also re-photographed a  small flower like fungi (see extra) which I think might be Paecilomyces farinosus which is parasitic on moth pupae.  (If there are any fungi experts out there - maybe you can help me identify these please.)  I also took photos of at least three other fungi that I can't name!  But then that's not unusual.  I think the wax caps are mainly Meadow Waxcaps and they are spread in a band across the top of the field.

Identification of main photo:  I've been considering Simocybe centunculus or Dingy Twiglet.
Who knows!
After trying to find an alternative path back to the cottage I finally had to retrace my steps as the path ran out on me and I couldn't fight my way through the bracken.  So a repeat of my Tuesday walk across Danby Rigg.  This time battling a song headwind rather than fog. 

An afternoon trip to Staithes and a late fish and chip lunch.  We were hoping to go to the Staithes Gallery but between Tuesday and today they seem to have changed their notice and now winter opening appears to be the weekend only.  I can't say I blame them but Tuesdays notice said they opened from Wednesday.  Staithes was pretty dead with most people in the Cod & Lobster.  Ann managed the walk down into the village and then back up - it's quite a climb!  Possibly the top path is a shade easier than the road!  In May we followed an elderly man up the road and we're still not sure if he made it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.