Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Crossing Paths

Today I was tasked with making a short film of the children sending their thanks to some recent supporters of the Restart Children's Charity. So off I popped to the orphanage as the children were returning from school. The children I selected seemed to really enjoy taking part. The above photo is of a child I will call J. Over two and a half years ago J unknowingly played a part in why I am now out in Kenya volunteering, back then he was living rough on the streets of Gilgil. I didn't actually get to meet J until earlier this year when I was working on the streets of Gilgil with my colleagues. J approached us and a chain of events ensued, with him eventually being rescued from the streets and taken into the Restart Children's Centre. I was lucky enough to be present at the orphanage when J was brought in for the first time , and seeing his bewildered and overjoyed  face as he was shown around for the first time is a memory that will stay with me forever. That was a defining moment for me and I decided that it couldn't be my final trip to Kenya, and it is part of the reason why I am out here volunteering for a couple of months at the orphanage. J has settled in really well to his new life and is without a doubt a much healthier  and happier boy than he was ten months ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.