Flat lands

Wherever I have lived I have always had hills close by; at the moment we live in amongst them. So, whenever I find myself for any length of time in an area without hills, it feels strange and a little unnerving. Seeing the land go on and on, way out into the distance, as far as the eye can see, is quite fascinating, but ultimately a bit worrying. I think I need landmarks.

This was taken on Frampton Marsh RSPB Nature Reserve, near Boston - the flat salt marsh reflected in a piece of artwork to give it a bit of 3D.

Plans for a morning exploring a little of the Lincolnshire coast were largely thwarted by wild and wet weather. We are now in London, dog sitting for daughter #2 whilst a massive firework event goes on at Alexandra Palace. We will be able to see (and hear) the fireworks from the window!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.