Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Raising a glass

Missed my morning workout. A couple of weeks ago I pulled the calf muscle in my left leg during a leg session. It has been niggling a bit since and I continued to exercise on it until this morning. So instead of a workout I had a lie in. Mid morning I went up to the orphanage to take a load of pictures for the website (restart Africa.org) and whilst squatting down to take a picture my calf muscle popped/twanged causing me to momentarily scream and utter several profanities under my breath. I spent the rest of the day limping and have had to cancel my hike up Mt Longanot I had planned for Monday. It's my 7th trip to Kenya in the last two years and each trip I threatened to climb Longanot and still not got round to it. (I will have an excuse to return as it is on my bucket list and needs ticking off). Whilst at the orphanage I suddenly turned into nurse Sarah. One of the little boys called John came rushing towards the two gap yr volunteers with blood gushing from his mouth. On hearing the words "oh my god he's bleeding" my first aid training kicked in. Turned out John had been climbing a tree and had fallen out of it causing a nasty split on his bottom lip which was pouring blood. So off to the office I went to sort him out. Just as I finished with John, little Teddy came in with a swollen hand, then another boy with a nasty cut to his finger. a trip to the hospital for an xray was arranged. Turned out it was not broken, thank goodness. This afternoon after lunch I went down to Gilgil town with Social Worker Dan and the two young gap volunteers. We met a dozen of the young street boys (most of them were under 12 yrs old and live on the streets begging for food and clothed in rags) We took them to a local restaurant for chicken and chips. (Message to Harry Barker-all the boys say hi and they miss you)
It was nice to see a couple of familiar faces from my previous visits. I also got to meet a six year old who is hopefully coming into Restart on Monday once the paperwork is all sorted. On the way back from town I took the two gap yr volunteers to see the old abandoned Restart Orphanage. This was quite a poignant moment as the place has become very dilapidated over the past 10 months and it was where I first met all the wonderful children 2 1/2 yrs ago.
I took some great pictures today which would have made great blip images.
However, this had to be today's picture as two of my friends back in Shrewsbury got married today. As I'm currently out in Kenya for 2 months, I missed what can only be described as the wedding of the year. So I'm raising a glass to Gerald and Julia, congratulations to you both, I hope you had a wonderful day and all the best for your future together. Xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.