Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Oops ouch

Hmmmm frustrating to say the least. Looks like I'm going to be taking it easy for a few days after the loud pop from my calf yesterday, and the fact that my whole lower leg is very swollen. It safe to say my exercise regime has come to an abrupt halt, which is doubly frustrating as I have a personal fitness trainer on hand 5 days a week for the next month. I enquired about having a trip to the chemist to get some ice packs and a support bandage this morning, at which my host got out her phone, called the chemist in town, and within ten minutes the items had been delivered to the house. Now that's good service, Tesco direct could learn a lot.
Today my host had guests to lunch which included the gap yr students. There were 8 of us in total. After numerous conversations about my previous work out in Kenya they asked to see the documentary that was made about it. So all 8 of us sat down to watch it. It's the first time I'd seen it all the way through since I saw it when it was first aired nearly twelve months ago. Not a word was said during the whole 52 minutes by anyone in the room, it felt quite weird to be sat there watching it with other people I'd only just met and seeing them so engrossed and moved by it.
It was good to see Kim, Theresa, kelvin, Tony, Nick, John and the others in the team who were all part of the making of it. Not forgetting the emmy award winning documentary maker Wael Dabbous. For two years we all worked closely together and became part of each others lives, and now it is over I'm unlikely to cross paths with some of the team again. Life can be quite strange sometimes in how it throws people together.
On another note I can't believe I've been out here just over 4 weeks, the time is flying.
I was supposed to be going to a remembrance service tonight at the nearby school, I even managed to buy a poppy when I was in Nairobi the other day. However, as I'm currently laid up my host didn't think it was a good idea as it was going to involve climbing a steep metal spiral staircase in the rain and she didn't fancy my chances of making it without adding to the current injury situation.
This week I have another 2 videos to make at the orphanage , more stuff to write for the website, sort out the Facebook and Twitter page for the charity as well as write a child protection policy for the orphanage. Re the latter, someone mentioned above promised to send email me some child protection stuff!!!! Just a gentle reminder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.