Meshlike silken threads

I can’t wait to see what emerges from this chrysalis, or perhaps more accurately cocoon.
It has a casing spun of silk-like threads and is attached to the door pillar of my garage. Normally it’s hidden away from sight and only when the garage door is open does it become visible.
The casing is meshlike and just like that spun by moth caterpillars and various insects, but I am afraid my knowledge of this type of evolutionary cycle is not that great to be able to immediately identify it.
That’s why I await to see what emerges, and hopefully it will happen while I am able to catch a glimpse of whatever emerges.  It may be of course that I will want to put my foot on it before it escapes to plants or flowers in the garden and wreaks havoc by developing a taste for whatever it settles on.
It’s been a few weeks residing on my garage doorpost already, and I am told that sometimes this type of cocoon can go on developing for weeks, even months and sometimes years.  Because it is hidden away most of the time while the garage door is closed, it should escape the attention of birds or other predators.

I just hope I don’t miss it when it does eventually emerge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.