fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Congregation

... as it is known at Durham University. Or graduation as it is known to anyone else. To be fair I think it is just the ceremony itself the term applies to.

I went to Durham deliberately to capture the students in all their finery. I took several shots of graduands processing from the Castle (where apparently they were being 'marshalled') to the Cathedral for the ceremony. I got some nice shots, but I couldn't resist the picture of the girl with the blue hair. She was so confident and vivacious - I just wish I'd taken more shots of her.

The town is in festive spirit for the occasion. This time the bunting is in the colours of the university - palatinate purple. I thought the heart chalkboard hanging outside a gift shop was a nice little touch, too.

As I was taking these shots I was again reminded that it is now 20 years since I started at Durham University - I graduated in 1995. I feel old! The sun came out just in time this afternoon. It was warm and muggy, but not as hot as my graduation - I seem to remember it was about 32 degrees C. I recall feeling rather faint as we had to stand in our black robes for ages beforehand.

In my day graduations were held in the Castle and as the Chancellor was Peter Ustinov I got to shake his hand! Until recently it was Bill Bryson and he was great - he got really involved with the university and was extremely approachable. Now it is someone no-one has heard of (Sir Thomas Allen). Unlike Bill, he didn't hang around after the ceremony chatting to people and posing for photos.

Here is a suitable song. I'm beginning to think I should get a bit more 'with-it' music wise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.