Heads Up

Such a great blip meet with Draco today at Bushy Park, so up at the crack of dawn to get there as the gates opened at 6:30.We were so lucky, with rain sweeping the country we had a small window of dry calm when it mattered most.

I have to say I didn't get the blip I thought I was going to get as Draco, having named this huge stag Hector, (I didn't ask) decided to go deeper in to the dense bracken cheerily calling it's name while he was lying having a casual dose. I would add that on this front Draco and I are just as bad as each other! I had visions of us all having to leg it sharply across the grass pitted with dangerous rabbit holes and hide behind a tree or each other...depending! Hector didn't stir and we went on, as intrepid blippers do to track others down, getting really close which was fabulous, and more importantly living to tell the tale!! It was such a lot of fun and our respective Hubs/sherpas do need a mention I feel as they not only had to get up at 3:45 this morning but were also deer spotters too.

I haven't named him but I did love the way I could just see the tips of his antlers above the bracken and then when I got closer he lifted his head higher to eyeball me as I fired off the camera. A very unconcerned stag - probably checking out the camera make and lens as Bushy is normally filled with nature paparazzi!! He did pose nicely. 

My extra is eyebrow plucking at Bushy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.