Bugle Girl And Bugle Boy

I went to the Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome Service of Remembrance this afternoon. I've mentioned before that this is the only surviving First World War aerodrome. 

A contingent on parade dressed in the Royal Flying Corps uniform of the period looked wonderfully smart as they marched past the airmen's mess into position.

I had my long lens on in the hope of capturing the planned poppy drop but it was too windy for the flimsy WW1 craft to take to the air. I would have loved to have been able to get a pic of the girl with pink and green hair and multiple piercings who played The Last Post so beautifully but a family who arrived after I had blocked my view. Not the time to be jostling for position or even to be taking pics for that matter.

Later in the proceedings the moustachioed, perfectly turned out man in my pic played his bugle. I wish I knew what his call was. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.