Incredibish

By Incredibish

Mono Monday : Money

Yes. You're right. I entirely agree... I have too much time on my hands.

And yet, every year at about this time I empty out my coin jars of all the fiddly shrapnel currency I accrue in my cash dealings. This year I bagged up just short of eighty quid. So I amalgamated two jobs; bank and blip. A penny saved is a penny earned, they say.

I don't recall exactly how old I was when I unearthed - literally - my old piggy bank. We lived in a house in Oldfield, Bath, which fact determines it was about 1970 or perhaps a couple of years earlier. Piggie was buried in the back garden flower bed, and I had been digging... The retroussé snout, born of some porcine mishap, had already occurred by then and, disfigured, I was permitted to keep him as my pocket money pig.

This munificent pile of treasure could never have fitted into him, and in any case I have no patience to go digging in with the butter knife nowadays - all the loose coinage goes into a whisky bottle tube. Give me an excuse to buy whisky... with spare change! So, anyone want to do swaps for notes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.